Home » birth » A Home Waterbirth After Three Cesareans

A Home Waterbirth After Three Cesareans

Women need to know that their bodies are not broken. Thank you Bethany for sharing your beautiful birth story and video with us.
**********

Back story:

My first child was born on 10-19-00 after an unnecessary induction turned into an “emergency” c-section. I was told by my doctors that vbacs were very unsafe and that the practice I was going to did not even do them anymore. With my second child I was given no other option but a repeat c-section. I didn’t know where to turn for information, so the only info I got was from my doctors who were lying to me : ( My first daughter was born on 9-19-05 via c-section after I went into labor on my own. When I got pregnant the third time I really wanted a vbac but they told me no one would do a vba2c, and after talking to the only doctor in town that I knew did vbacs, I was told the same thing and I, stupidly believed them. It NEVER crossed my mind that a midwife would do a vbac, much less a vba2c, since it was supposedly so “dangerous”, so I never even talked to any midwives. My second daughter was born on 8-27-07, another unnecessary c-section : ( When she was a couple of months old, I was looking online for an answer to a breastfeeding question. I came across Cafemom and somehow discovered that women do, in fact have vaginal births after more than one c-section! That started my research. I found great info and birth stories and videos of women giving birth after having 2, 3, even 4 c-sections! I came across a video on Youtube of a woman who had a VBA3C, the first one I watched. That was all she wrote! I thought, if she can do it, I can do it! From that point on, I knew my next birth would be a natural, vaginal birth, I just knew it!

*************

I’ll try to make a very long story as short as possible:

I started going to a Birth Center around 16 weeks, or so, for prenatal care. Unfortunately, the midwives there are unable to do vbacs unless the mother has had a prior vaginal birth, so I was out. They were very supportive and willing to help me in any way they could to find a midwife to take me on. When I was about 30 weeks along I found a midwife about 45 minutes away that was super excited about taking me on as a client. She had been doing her own research and after talking with me and learning my history, she felt comfortable with the idea of attending my birth. I really liked her and was so thrilled that things were falling into place so wonderfully. I stayed at the birth center as well, since insurance was paying for that. The plan was to see the new midwife, Brenda, a couple of times before the birth, although it turned into more than a couple of visits. After a breech baby scare (he was breech from 32-36 weeks and literally flipped the day before they sent me for a position check ultrasound), everything else was smooth sailing.

At 41 weeks, my body and baby decided it was time : ) I had been having contractions for 4 days at that point, so when the real thing started, I had a little trouble believing it. Contractions started at midnight on July 19th. The first hour they were ever 15 minutes. The next 2 or three hours they were coming every 2-4 minutes! I took a shower, packed up a few more things and finally woke up my hubby. We loaded up the car with what seemed like everything but the kitchen sink, packed up the kids and called the babysitter, midwife and my family to let them all know it was time. We dropped off the kids and picked up my mom and sister so one of them could drive and Kelvin could be in the back seat with me. My dad, followed behind us. My mom called my doula to meet us there.

We got to my midwife’s house at 5:30am and by then the contractions had slowed to about every 4-7 minutes. Brenda already had the bith pool set up and her assistant was there. She checked me and I was about 2.5 to 3 cm. The more I walked the closer and stronger they came, so…we walked. We walked around the yard for a couple of hours. My husband walked with me and I held on to him during contractions. At one point, arounf 11, I think everything pretty much came to a hault. I was only contracting about every 15 minutes or so and they weren’t very strong. We took that time to rest a little and have some lunch. My friend brought my girls up to visit so they could see me before anything got going to heavy.

After we ate and the girls left, Brenda had us do some nipple stimulation to get things going again. Boy did that work! Holy cow! Who needs pitocin when all you have to do is play with your boobies!! Everything really picked up after that. At first the baby was posterior which was probably what was causing the labor to move so slowly and stop and start like it was. I did a lot of hands and knees positions and walking, of course. I don’t know how women labor on their backs, that’s the last place I wanted to be! Not long after the nipple stimulation got things going again, I got in the pool. I really lost track of time at that point so I’ll just tell the story like I remember it. I wanted to be on my knees leaning over the pool for the most part. My husband had to put constant counter pressure on my back. My mom and doula kept me sane by staying in my face and talking calmly to me about relaxing and flowing with the contractions.

The next time Brenda checked me was in the pool. She said it felt like I was about 7cm. Sounded good to me, although, I don’t think it was accurate.  From here on I was really having to fight not to scream through each contraction. They were really getting intense. After laboring a while longer I got out of the water for a check and was found to still be at a 7. I really didn’t care about how far I was dilated throughout the whole labor. Kelvin was afraid I would be disappointed to hear that, but I honestly was just taking it minute by minute at that point so it didn’t really matter to me what she said. We did some more nipple stimulation even though I really didn’t want to, I just wanted things to hurry along so it would all be over!

Some time later, I was finally fully dialted but had an anterior lip. So Brenda had me lay on my side in the pool. That sucked! The contractions were so much harder to handle in that position. My wonderful husband had me look into his eyes and breath with him to keep me from screaming in pain. At one point I looked up at him and he was crying. He never cries, so that made me cry. I really saw how much he loved me at that point. While I was laying like this, my water broke. It was a pretty cool feeling. It just gushed out in the middle of a contraction. I don’t remember when I started feeling like I needed to push but Brenda wanted to check me again to make sure the lip was gone…it wasn’t. She had me lay down and she tried to push the lip out of the way so the baby’s head could move past it. What a sucky situation that was. It did feel good to push though. I just didn’t want to end up having the baby on the floor. My body wasn’t going to let that happen. I was out of the pool for a little while trying to get rid of the lip, standing, squatting, lunging. People kept asking me what I wanted to do and what position I wanted to be in. I just kept saying, ” I don’t want to do ANYTHING! I just want to be done!”

I don’t remember what position I was in but I remember I jumped up said I need to get in the pool and I really started pushing then. I guess the midwife knew that my body knew what it was doing cause she didn’t even ask to check and make sure the lip was gone. Any big, huge pregnant lady that jumps up and over the side of a pool that fast, knows she needs to push! LOL! Everyone there even commented that they hadn’t seen me move that fast in months!

I was afraid of the ring of fire but I was prepared for that. What I wasn’t prepared for was the burning I felt as he descended down the birth canal. It burned soooo bad. Unfortunately, that caused me to push a lot harder than I probably should have been pushing. It wasn’t long before me and my husband felt his little head, right there. I still thought I had a while longer because it just seemed like there was no way his head was gonna fit through there! I felt like my butt was going to literally explode! After only about 20 minutes of pushing his head popped out, right into mine and my husbands hands. Kelvin was like, “Um, his heads out?!!?” Everyone was sure surprised to hear that. We were all expecting pushing to take longer than it did. The room turned into a cheer leading event at that point. I waited for the next contraction and felt his little body moving down and coming out. It was so cool to feel his legs kick their way out. It was 6:44 pm. Brenda and Kelvin passed him to me between my legs and I looked down and saw his little body swimming up to me. It was the coolest thing ever : ) I pulled him up out of the water and everyone just squealed and cried and we were all so happy. I always knew we could do it, but it was so awesome to have done it! I told my husband, ” I told you we could do it, Babe” and we sat there and cried and held our new baby, it was so perfect. Brenda, told me to look up at here and I did. She says, ” Hey, Bethany, you just pushed a baby out of your vagina!” And we gave each other a high five! Priceless!

Kelvin cut the cord after it stopped pulsating and a couple of minutes later the placenta came out with no problem. I did end up tearing in 2 places, which sucked, but hey, better than a c-section, right. We got out and took a nice herbal bath and climbed into bed. Brenda checked Kage over and said he looked pretty perfect : ) 7lbs 12oz., 21 1/2 in long. We spent the night there and she even made us breakfast the next morning. What a wonderful woman!

My husband truly came through during this birth. I knew he would be great, but he really blew us all away with just how well he took care of me throughout the whole thing : )

Birth Video Raw and Uncut.

3 thoughts on “A Home Waterbirth After Three Cesareans

  1. Sadly, I don’t think many women consider it an option. They are worried about uterine rupture, and OB’s may have scared them, or lied to them, or just don’t know much about VBAC.

Share Your Birth Wisdom!

